Planning committee

Collaborative Planning

The 15 member non-profit Planning Committee is dedicated to reducing health disparities and promoting health equity through the domains of research, prevention, clinical care, and policy.  

All Planning Committee members contribute equally to the formation of the conference. 

 Planning Committee members include:

Angela Allen, PhD, RN, CRRN, Banner Alzheimer's Institute 

Desiree De Melo, Dignity Health

Kim Barnes, MPH, University of Arizona Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health  

Lauriane Bellot-Hanson, Equality Health

Jeff Lewis, El Rio Community Health Center

Tiffany Luu, Esperanca
Marica Martinic, MPH. North Country HealthCare/Northern Arizona Area Health Education Center

Christine Morgan, AT Still University-SOMA
Emily Oake, MHA, Arizona Alliance for Community Health Centers

Farhia Omar, MPH, Mayo Clinic

Teresa Peña, M.Ed., CHI, Mercy Care*

Christine Rizk, HonorHealth Research Institute

Katharine Cole Sanderson, Northern Arizona University

Pavi Shetty, Mercy Care*

Genesis Verduzco, Arizona Hospital and Healthcare Association

Wendy Wolfersteig,  ASU SIRC

Special Advisor: Charlton Wilson, MD, Mercy Care*

*Leading Organization for Arizona Health Equity Conferences


About Us



  • Understand current health equity research, outreach, and policies taking place in Arizona
  • Connect with partners who are working in the field of health equity or interested in reducing health disparities



  1. Raise awareness about health equity and disparities through topics focused on research, clinical applications, behavioral health, prevention, public health, and policy
  2. Provide meaningful networking opportunities
  3. Leave with clear outcomes, new partnerships, and new ideas for research
  4. Identify paths to improve community health and create systems change

Event includes:


  • Local and nationally recognized speakers
  • Innovative networking
  • Breakout tracks: Research, Prevention, Clinical, and Policy
  • Posters


 Please contact